The Change

You decide to watch ‘Hasee to Phasee‘ because you like Sidharth Malhotra. But you end up becoming a fan of Parineeti Chopra.

I’d watched Ishqzaade and obviously had plenty of expectations from her. But she broke them all! By the concluding song, I was like, “Oh my! I so underestimated her.”

This is her epic expression!

This is her epic expression!

I know that the film was released in February and it’s too late for a review. SO Whaat? This is not a movie review, just my thoughts which I couldn’t resist from sharing with you people.

Parineeti plays the role of a super intelligent geek, a never-seen-before character in Hindi films and she looks so real. Psychologically speaking, it kind of reassures the audience that the female part in love stories need not be perfect. So that really impressed me as somebody who is tired of watching fake barbie dolls who knows nothing other than dancing and giggling. Ufff!

So that made me think of the roles actresses get to play and the stories which are designed for the hero.

I’d say, in a way Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewani is an exception to this. At the end, we almost expect Naina to leave everythingThe change and go behind Bunny. But Surprise! We see him giving up his career for being with her. So that means Naina wouldn’t have to leave behind her career and her family, as we have been seeing in the movies for a long time. I like that!

So yeah, these two movies inspite of being mainstream dramas were successful in breaking away from stereotypes in the case of women.

I also realised that this is a change we all have been waiting for and I hope this is just a beginning.

Leave a comment